Skip to content

Giving Back | Virginia Professional Photographer

April 20, 2012

It feels good to give back, and bless someone doesn’t it?  It is also really easy to fall into only doing things for yourself.  We have many good excuses too! 

Right now my life is full.  I have a marriage to enhance, children to raise, business to run, gardens to weed, friendships to foster,  farmette to help on {which honestly I don’t do a whole lot with!} plus church and school activities.  It is hard to think of fitting in another activity, especially one that will pull me away from my family which is my priority now.

Some days I just sigh to myself at what is on my plate.  Some people have a whole lot more going on in their lives then I.  I have friends that do and go way more then I do.  Everyone has a stress threshold and I have discovered mine.  If you are always frazzled and totally at your end, you may want to start saying no to something!  I have to keep things manageable or I get sick, physically sick and anxious!  Crazy huh?!  Well it is no fun so I refuse to light both ends of the candle.  Remember everyone is different so don’t try to be like anyone else.

So what does all that have to do with giving back?  At this point in my life I don’t have time or energy to volunteer for things that interest me, I don’t even have the time for doing art like I would like.  But I’m totally ok with that because I know life is full of seasons and my ‘art season’ will come!  But what if there was a way that I could use my job to give back????  What if there was a site that I could go to and check out a whole bunch of different options to do that?  I have been a part of celebratingadoptions.org for several years and I was recently alerted to the fact that they are no longer active.  So I stumbled upon Shutter Mission

300x250

 

I am looking into the different opportunities and have already applied to one.  I’m excited about the possibilities to give back using my talents.  So if you are a photographer and are looking for ways to give back check out the site Amanda Shoemaker put together.  You might find something that fits you.  It is also a great resource for looking for a charity that may benefit you on the receiving end.

Happy Friday!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shutter Mission - Photo Charities permalink
    April 20, 2012 10:48 am

    Christina, thank you so much for spreading the word about Shutter Mission and photography charities. It really means a lot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

